Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Meet the new boss, same as the old boss?
2004-03-08

Well, I had a whole entry written, but then work intruded, I had to change screens and lost it all. That's the way life has been lately I guess. Between Tony's funeral, my fight with the previous employeer, work issues and even the local team losing, the last week has not been wonderful. What are you going to do?

Yesterday turned out to be much nicer than forecasted day so I tried to make the best of things, forget the rest of the week and make good things happen. I managed to make a decent dent.

I got another coat of poly on the new replacement floorboard, pulled out all the boat storage bins and took a full load of stuff including the microwave down to the YC. I got the other side of the hull cleaned and polished and now have the aching arms to prove it. The boom is now in place as are a few of the halyards and the vang. The GPS is in and I finally fixed the stereo so no the speakers are wired in the proper sequence. The instruments are also in place, but a bit more work needs to be done there. Phew....

M.E. came down to oil teak but ended up laying in the sun instead. She had the right idea. I should have joined her, but when I am on a mission I'm hard to stop. 95% of the boats still have their covers on and I'm probably 80% ready to go so you could say that I'm slightly ahead of the curve. :-)

When I wrapped up, the friend with the boat next door came over and we split a bottle of cab. I've been doing that a bit too much lately and really need to back off, not only for my livers sake, but also with all the calories consumed, I'm going to be as big as Vegas by the time we get there. UGH!

I was popping through the channels and the Carpenters story was on PBS. Now when they were in their prime they really weren't my kind of music and yet when they did all their hits, I knew every word. What's up with that? One thing I know, that girl could sing. Why is it that so many people that have the world right where they want it are still so unhappy? Rainy days and Mondays always get me down.

Oh and Meggan, you can be mad if you want but when I saw her, I thought of you. Talented, beautiful and smart, that seems to be the formula for folks with eating disorders. I'm glad you seem to be doing better. I know it is a fight, but it's one you have to win, OK? Oh and while I have you pissed off, I might as well go all the way. I've read some of your stuff you've been writing in the paper. You really are an excellent writer, so there. Hate me, life goes on.

The new boss starts today, I think this is a good thing. Right now we all report to the regional guy and there is very little hands on managemnt that happens. On the other hand, there is very little supervision, so I guess it is a trade off. I'd rather things improve from a business standpoint so...

Any way, Happy Monday world. I hope this week is better than the last.

Previous - Next

Top