Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Freshly fallen silent shroud of snow
2004-01-23

Just when I thought things couldn't possibly get any better, along comes Mr. Migrane. Yippeeeeeeee! What's next, and asteroid through the roof? Hmm, at least that migh theat up my office for a bit. Brrrrrrr...

When I took the truck in for the estimate last night, the dealer is right next to the spot where the STAT1ON fire was. It's only a couple of miles up the street. I had to walk right by the lot and it's 100 crosses. Except for the memorials, it's not an impressive spot, just a parking lot with a dirt strip between the houses of the neighborhood and the Nissan dealer. It doesn't look big enough to house a place that held 400 people that night. The remains of the sign still stand, but that's all. If you didn't know it was there you'd drive right by. Most do.

It really is pretty eerie to know that 100 mostly local people just ceased to exist in a matter of just 2 or 3 minutes. Most had no chance, by the time they even realized there was a problem, it was just too late, done in by stupidity, and incompetence mostly. We are conditioned to think the places we visit are safe. How could they not be?

There were Christmas trees and pictures and lots of candles. A couple was wandering in the snow going from memorial to memorial. One cross had a guys name in lights. I was tempted to see how they did that, but it just didn't feel right to go over there. It wasn't my place you know, it belonged to them.

The town plows the lot every time it snows and I don't think I've ever been by there no matter what time of the day and night without seeing people. I don't really believe in ghosts or anything, but I think the presence of the dead is really strong there. I guess that's why they come.

There's talk of making it a park. They might as well, nobody will ever build there agian. It wouldn't be right I guess.... The passing of that 100 people has changed fire codes through out the country and made people like me more aware of things like locations of exits and the implications of over crowding. I think that's probably the most fitting tribute of all.

Previous - Next

Top