Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Fire in the hole
2004-01-02

Well, we managed to survive New Years with only three broken glasses and one small fire which did not require calling 911. The stats: 25 of 30 pounds of prime rib consumed along with most of 15 pounds of potatoes, six pounds of pilaf, three pounds of broccoli and cheese and 4 pounds of corn. Oh, also three dozen rolls and lots and lots of salad. 28 people shoed up for dinner and the highest people count was 43. The recycling bin is full of empties and I have several full trash bags for garbage day. OH yeah, I also had a good time :-)

We kind of always have taken in the strays who don't have any place else to go and it seems to have grown through the years. I enjoy it and it really doeasn't cost all that more than goingf out some place nice.

Puppy was good boy with no damatic stories to tell. He didn't eat anything he wasn't suposed to ot harass any of the guests. The last people left about 1:30 and by the time we finished cleaning it was 2:00. ZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzz........

OH yeah the fire..... I was brining up this warming tray, you know the kind that uses water and sterno, canned heat... Well the first two went fine, but on the third one I somehow instead of grabbing just the pan managed to bring up the rack and flames too. Just as I got into the kitchen the rack and napalm decided to eject and there was jellied flame all over the kitchen and living room rug. Of course we have fire estinguishers all over the house which M.E. loves discharging for any reason. I took the brunt of it even though I wasn't in flames. Some how the fire also managed to get put out, probably just from the white powder I was exhaling. In one minute all was back to normal, with no permanent damage done. Interesting, no?

Well I have today off and there are bills to pay and oil to change. Have a happy 2004 people!

Ron

Previous - Next

Top