Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Not dreaming of a white Christmas
2003-12-08

I did not need two feet of snow to put me in the Christmas spirit. I did not need to lose my cell phone in a snow bank and have it get plowed (probably) into the neighbors woods. I did not need to spend $15 dollars (twice) to get the driveway plowed. I did not need snow in my boots for the three foot drifts that were crushing my new trees in the front yard. I did not need a sore back from shoveling. On the plus side, it looked nice for a bit. That's it for the plus side.

Our free range Christmas tree, cut from the front yard looks, um, well OK I guess. I cut it down during the blizzard and once it was on the ground realized it was about the size of the one in Rockerfeller Center. I had to cut it into four parts to haul the remaining tree carcass away to the decaying folliage pile way in the back.

There were several bare spots that I fixed with the drill and a few extra branches. The top looks a bit funky too. We had people over though both days and they said it looked nice. Either I'm to picky or they were being polite. Either way after all the work, it stays.

We now have cable TV in the basement. How luxurious... The sitting area down there now is completely redone and looks great. I ran out of trim though so progress in the pooltable and doorway areas has come to a standstill, just like the traffic on the way home Friday. Have I mentioned I hate snow?

I'm leaving early today for some tests. Nothing serious, just the usualy winter attack on my joints and stuff by my immune system. Perhaps I need to get some tiny signs made that say friend, not foe? I'm trying a new doctor. Hopefully he will not be the asswipe that was my old one. She was only in it for the $$$$$$$ Such is life I guess.

M.E. and I both got new cell phones for free yesterday. We had to re-up our expired contract for a year, but we've been pretty happy with our service and plan so it wasn't a hardship. Now all I have to do is figure out how to run it.

Happy Monday, stay warm, and #$%&**( snow.

Previous - Next

Top