Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Dock scratch fever
2003-10-28

First, to Jess... You can put the tile right over the cement. We had carpet too (Ugly green and brown indoor outdoor) and it had to go. We had to scrape up the rest fo the carpet poadding, but it so far has stuck fine. So ends the educational portion of our show. We now return you to regular programming.

Half my staff is out with the flu. UGH. Jon my engineer was really sick yesterday and won't be in today. I'd rather have him home than spreading plague throughout the land.

The Club had a major haul out yesterday and I called to see if they had an open spot for us. Since we draw 7 1/2 feet of water, and are 40 feet long, the options are limited.

Well, Bruce the manager checks and says the end of E dock is open, so I call M.E. who has the day off and we scurry down to grab the open spot. It isn't nice, it is blowing 25+ and raining. I decide to take the boat in solo so M.E. can stay dry. I'm so sweet huh?

I get the fenders and dock lines set up, untie the pick up stick and get blown immediatey into the winter stick of the mooring behind me. I'm probably doing 4 knots without the engine in gear. UGH. Now the stick is under the boat so I have to wait to make sure it clears before I can do anything. Fortunately it does.

The end of E dock, where I'm supposed to go is now the next problem. There are not one, but two boats in my supposed slip. I can't get back to the mooring now because the stick is gone and my slip is full.

I cruise down the docks looking for an open spot and there it is, prime real estate on B dock. I call in to see if it is open and get a thumbs up. OK, B it is. As soon as I make the corner I know it is going to be shaky. The wind is really gusting now and pushing me in funny ways. I'm in reverse and about 1200 RPMs and still doing 3 knots forward. Not good.

I give it more gas, make the turn for the slip and I think I"m lined up pretty good. M.E. has two guys who offer to help and everybody is just standing there. I ask am I ok and they all say yes. I wasn't... I hit the corner of the dock and there was a metal washer thata put a 3 foot gouge right through the paint. Nice... sigh...

We tied up the boat, plugged it in, and turned on the heat. By this point we were all pretty wet. We hit the bar for grapes and to dry off. They all appologized for not letting me know I was off. It really wasn't there fault, it was mine. I should have stayed more in the middle, played the gusts better. It's been a while. Life goes on.

We had a late dinner and an early night. Back into the barrel again today.

Happy Tuesday.

Previous - Next

Top