Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Over by the big tree....
2003-09-03

I didn't write about this when it happened a couple of weeks ago. I guess I figured it was nobodies business, but when I was out showing a boat on the other side of the bay that day, I stopped by the cemetary to visit my brother.

I'd been there before, but never could find the stone. It's been a long time now, he was just 15, the place changed a lot. I went to the office and rang the bell, nobody was in and I went to leave. A guy came by as I was getting in the truck and told me to go back, he'd help me.

Well, he was sort of helpful, I at least got a plot number and area, even if they weren't marked. Finally some guy on a mower showed me to the spot. My grandfather, grandmother, brother and baby cousin who died of crib death were all there. I'd forgotten about the baby, the tiny coffin. Not good, not good at all.

A family was near by cleaning up a flat stone and taking pictures. They seemed to be having a good time. It felt odd.

My brother was the artist of the family. I have a picture painted by him in my computer room. He was the first to die after my moms grandfather so he ended up far away from my other grandfather who was one of my best friends and died the next year. My dad who passed away the following year was burried with his dad.

The rest fo the family will probably end up there and Donny will the only one seperated. I hope doesn't mind.

I said a few words, touched the stone, got in my truck and headed back to work selling boats. Unlike what I usually say, sometimes the saying and life goes on, isn't true. Eventually it stops and sometimes it does way too young. I miss you...

Previous - Next

Top