Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Somebody forgot to flush?
2003-08-21

I'm getting more sleep than I ever have and yet I still feel tired. What's up with that? Ahh, the answer to all that ails the world right? Stress.... sigh...

The Environmental Management people have been here at the marina the last few days, the bay to the north had a massive fish kill and the bay smells and looks like sewage until you get out around the point. The cause so far has yet to be determined. Makes me glad I'm not sailing JY 15's I don't want to even think of touching that water.

Ironicly though, I did touch it last night quite a bit. I had to clean the knotmeter transducer and that involves taking out a 2" plug from the bottom of the boat, replacing it with another plug, cleaning the wheel and then replacing the plug.

When the plug is out, it looks like Old Faithful in the forward cabin. Last night my timing was off and I got pretty wet with dead fish sewer water. I used quite a bit of disinfectant soap and most of the rest of the water in the tanks scrubbing that crap (literally) off.

When my chores were done, we motored out to watch the races. I got a great vantage point right by the leeward mark and we watched the spinnaker take downs. The best of A Class were picture perfect, soem of the others were adaquate and some were down right funny.

Tonight, we finally have our make up race for the Spring Series. Most of my regulars can't make it so we are sailing patchwork against people who have been together all season. Also, since this is technically a spring race, I have to use the sails I qualifed with in the spring, the old crappy #2 on the furler. It is supposed ot be light. Not a good thing.

We'll give it our best shot, thats all we can do.

Happy Thursday!

Previous - Next

Top