Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

A little slice of heaven
2003-08-07

I'm really surprised I'm not missing the racing more, but apparently I'm not. We went out under a perfectly blue sky and wonderful breezewith just four of us on board. We sailed out to watch the starts out by the red bell. Visability was unlimited and we talked of Mars and boats and sky.

As soon as the sails went up I let Laura drive and set about puttering, doing little chores and pouring drinks. I did a little sail trim, but mostly sat on the rail relaxing, enjoying. The smile on Laura's face was priceless. She really is a sweetheart.

The A start was a mess, lots of protest flags. There apparently was a disconnect between the flags and the gun. Half the class came in steaming.

B start, one boat, our old class. We waved and sailed on.

C Class, a general recall, lot of yelling and screaming, everybody has to restart. I decide to have a second glass of wine and we head away from the race course into empty waters and wonderful southwesterly breeze.

I plug some Bob Marley in the CD player and Maria drives back, we talk, relax and Laura drinks a bit too much wine. We're the first ones back and grab the primo rocking chairs. No war stories to tell, but no high blood pressure or protest hearings to attend.

Laura has to drive home and didn't bring money so I buy her a sandwich. The Sox beat the A's, Yankees lose and for a while, just a little while, all is right with the world.

Previous - Next

Top