Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Drifting with the tide?
2003-06-26

It was in the 90's here yesterday and sticky. For people who haven't even seen the sun in several weeks (or so it seems) it was just plain unbearable. My office has no AC. At least I'm on the first floor and in the shade. I've got the door propped upen with a chip clip. Ingenious, no?

I spent half the day at the Cape and half here in Rhode Island. I have several leads that I'm following up on. To be able to sell something early would be good for my self-confidence and put me in a higher light with the boss and crew. Wish me luck.

In mid July I get to take a brand new boat to Nantucket and spend three days partying with the Benete@us owners group. Free food and drink, live music and sailing. What could be better? M.E. gets to come too. Yippee.

We raced last night in absolutely no wind. The water had an oily glassy look. Not good. They postponed once and then started in a small patch of breeze that averaged maybe two knots. The highest boat speed we saw all day was 2.5 up and 1.1 down. A two mile windward leeward (up and down) race took over two hours. You do the math. It wasn't a test of skill, it was a damn crap shoot. Yes we won, but I'm still cheesed off. The race commitee should have known better. They got an earful after. Another boat in my class may be quitting. They are tired of getting in so late. I may join them. It is under consideration. We'll see.

The boss man is coming down to my office today to fix the computer and phones. This is a good thing.

Happy Belated birthday Kasey.

Stay cool folks and have a great day!

Previous - Next

Top