Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Here I go, turn the page....
2003-06-20

Yes, I'm just about done winding down here. The office has been cleansed of my limited personal effects, my wipe board has been washed, my desk pad has a fresh new sheet. It would be already for somebody to come in and take over, except we are closing so that isn't going to happen. All I have left to do is remove a few programs from the computer and the place will be better (and cleaner) then when I moved in.

I spent two+ years in this windowless box with the one teal wall. Two+ years of getting the files and books just like I liked them. Two+ years of fighting the Boston traffic in rain and snow and shine. Two+ years of having to sneak food because as the sign at the door say, food and drink not allowed beyond this point. I was sure they didn't mean me. Right?

People I know well and people I only know in passing have been stopping by to pay their respects. It's sort of like funeral except that I don't get to lie down in the process. Most people seen more shook up than I am. I am a visable sign that their end is near. Perhaps that is the last message I should leave on my wipe board? Nah, I'll leave a clean slate. That way there is hope right?

I will miss some of the people, but leaving a job is always like that I suppose. I made a consious effort not to get too attached here. I always knew somehow that it would be a temporary stop. And so it was. I'm leaving at 11:00, four hours. I can handle that. Then off to new and different things. Just one more stop on the merry go round.

Happy Friday!

Previous - Next

Top