Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Margorie's dreaming of horses
2003-05-28

Well, my truck now stops when it is supposed to, which I guess is a good thing. The boat also now starts when it it is suppose to, which is also a good thing. Hard to believe but all it took was money. Money, it's a trip. Don't give me that do goody good bullshit... Ooops, I hate those old Pink Floyd flashbacks from the 70's. We now return you to our regularly scheduled rant.

I left early to pick up the truck after being totally screwed on the brake job. These people care not that I will soon be out of work. I guess the philosophy is better get the cash while they can because next month it isn't going to be there.

I figured out a strategy on the boat battery issues. I bought one new battery that will be used for starting only. Then I'm taking the best of the rest home for a full overnight charge and will use them as house batteries only. This is an adaquate stop gap solution. I hope...

I cleaned the boat of the residue of the weekend and put away the foul weather gear and hatch covers. I poured a glass of grapes and the night was so calm that I decided to go for a motor. I cast off into a perfectly still harbor in which I could see my reflexion. I looked fairly awful, laways a big confidence booster. Oh well...

I motored out of the channel and headed for the lighthouse when all of a sudden and out of no where my glass of wine decide to make a run for it. The next thing I knew, my cockpit sole had a vivid red tie dyed look. It would have made a great Grateful Dead poster or perhaps a crime scene on CSI dum dum.

Soooo I locked the wheel, toned down the throttle and got out the bleach cleaner and paper towels. My hands still smell like bleach but I'm now probably immune from SARS for a bit.

I then cranked up the tunes, poured another glass and went off in search of something. I may have found a bit of what it was that I was looking for but I guess you never can be sure about stuff like that.

On the ride in, there was a minor miracle. The sun came out for a bit. Yes I know, you think that the sun doesn't really exist any more. That it has been swallowed up by the rain king, but no I saw it, I really did. Honest.. I'm pretty sure I wasn't halucinating. Of course, if I was, how would i know?

I hit the club just in time to realize that I had missed the skippers meeting for racing, but not so late as to miss the passing out of race instructions. Timing is everything in life.

Today is the first race, but it is practice so it doesn't count. I do not do races that do not count. I got an email this morning from two women asking if we needed any crew. Barbra sailed with us a bit last year. She's a nice enough person, but she never ever shuts up. Cindy sailed with Evil 42 who will not be racing this summer. She's beautiful and talented and nice. We never turn down crew. Both were extended invites.

Well off to do, well, hmmm, nothing... Have a great hump day!

me

Previous - Next

Top