Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

You got to know when to fold them
2003-05-19

I've had a few people ask about the anti-google filter. I found it through reddirtgirl Stop by and tell her thanks, she is a great read and a nice person. The address is http://members.diaryland.com/edit/faq/misc.phtml Go to the bottom of the page and there are instruction on how to put the filter in.

Besides racing I got quite a bit accomplished this weekend. I cleaned and vacuumed the house, cut the lawn and did laundry. Exciting huh? It was nice to have all the windows open for a change and the smell of freshly cut grass made it even better.

Then I went down to load up and wash the boat for Sunday. It was a nice day and I really don't mind boat work. I took the launch out took a look around and every single end dock was full. The rules for end docks are, you can stay for an hour or so. The signs say 30 minutes, but everybody ignores that. It just takes more than 30 minutes to do stuff. You do your thing and when you are done you leave. A simple system that works pretty well most of the time. Most....

Well on Saturday, nothing was simple. 5 boats attached to the dock had obviously been left there over night. There was no one to be seen and they were locked up tight. One of these was Evil 42 who makes a habit of such things and who was warned several times last year. They feel they are above such rules and continue to ignore them.

Another was a guy with a new boat and they were working so I didnt mind so much. Finally there was this new member with a cockpit full of people having some kind of party and tying up 40 feet of space. I waited 4 hours. I did what I could on board and seethed.

Then I took the launch in and looked for a place to explode. It happened in the managers office. I like Bruce. He seems to be an OK guy but his is 300 pounds of wuss. I explained the situation that several of these people had been there for weeks and that those end docks were the only access to water and power that the hundred + people in the mooring field have access too. He was sympathetic but not very helpful.

His assistant Ed was more proactive. He took a list of the boats and made phone calls. He went down and talked to the new guy and explained the situation. It didn't help me any but maybe next time....

The commodores ball was nice. They really do a nice job with the club. We had that Massachusetts State Trooper who has been singing the National Anthem and God Bless America since 9/11 come down and do his thing. I was way impressed.

They totally gaffed up the seating arrangements and we ended up stuck with of course Evil 42. I tried to ignore them all night and was pretty sucessful. I also managed to drink a bit of red grapes. M.E and Claude drank Stoli Raspberry and sprite. They decided that hangover the next day must have been the result of bad sprite.

The food was wonderful and the band adaquate, well until they started with disco. Then I made myself scarse. It's funny seing everybody in suits and gowns. A few people looked VERY different... I won the centerpiece by having a flag on the bottom of my place card.

We bailed around midnight I guess, lots of folks were still there. It was time.

Previous - Next

Top