Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

A long shot that has a chance....
2003-05-15

I never made it to the job fair yesterday. Instead I had a three hour interview for the job brokerage/sales managers job.

I agreed to an appointment at 11:00 and then realized via map quest that it was a 2:08 drive out to the end of the Cape and it was already 9:30. Mario Andretti would have been proud of me because I made it with one minute to spare (dispite a construction detour to boot). The only time I was really nervous was when I zipped past the Mass state trooper at 80 mph in a 55 zone, but he didn't chase me. My motto was if it is meant to be, then it will be. Still, I was glad to make it on time.

All the people there were pretty nice and the interviews went pretty well dispite the fact that I have little actual sales experience. The boss kept saying that normally they wouldn't even consider someone with my limited sales background, but there was something there that intrigued him I guess.

He set up meetings with all his top people and if I had to guess right now, it will be two thumbs up and one thumbs down. So Dave the owner will be the final arbiter.

I asked Neil to call today and tell them I was the greatest mortgage salesman this side of, well, Neil. I'm sure he'll put in a good word. I have to write a thank you letter this morning to Dave and fax it before he gets in at 9:00. Follow up is important in this business.

I'm pretty excited but also a bit nervous. It's a mostly commission business and you CAN make serious money. The question is will I? They don't have much patience for poor producers. Maybe it all won't work out, or maybe I won't be good at this, but I think I will. How could you hate a job that involves sailing and talking boats all day long?

Oh and afterward, I celebrated my day by having lunch at Seafood Sams (Lobsters Scallops and clams at Sams OH Ah, Seafood Sams). It was quite yummy.

Well any way, I'm keeping my fingers crossed. We'll see... Happy Thursday!

Previous - Next

Top