Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

I don't know my own address?
2003-04-29

Well, a while ago, I wrote about the story of how the bank that holds our line of credit messed up the address and all the trials and tribulations I had to go through to get it fixed... Well guess what? To quote that twit Brittany, oops they did it a again.

I noticed I didn't get a statement this month so I called right away. After being on hold for 15+ minutes I finally get put through to this woman who barely speaks english. Note to bank, When you are hiring people for customer service in a predominantly ENGLISH speaking country, shouldn't the people trying to solve the problems be able to understand the freaking language? WELL? ANSWER ME DAMN IT... Oh, you don't speak english either? Perhaps that explains it.

Well any way, sure enough, they had changed my address and phone numbers back to the old, incorrect ones and they don't allow mail to be forwarded so, no bills and no attempt to notify me of this either. Information black hole at it's finest.

Being a reasonable person, I asked them to change it back. They said no. They said the address on their papers were the correct ones and they insisted on this dispite the documentation that all mail sent to the wrong address kept coming back as undeliverable because there was no such address. Apparently this is not proof enough to them.

I asked to talk to a supervisor and was punt on hold for another 10 minutes. At this point, my blood pressure was maybe 600? When she finally comes on, she says well I checked the records and we indeed did fix the file, but we shouldn't have without written authorization from you so we changed it back. Um, lady, I sent in the card you sent me after the change, authorizing the change. Oh, well we never got it. Mail does get lost you know.

Then she blamed the mortgage broker, the lawyers, us, everybody but the dog. She even lied and said the signed copies from the closing did not have the corrected address. They did and the lawyer called when I was there asking them to fix their files. Apparently they were too busy...

Finally it got to the point where I said, hmm, maybe I should just stop making the payments and you can try and forclose on a an address that doesn't exist... That did not make her happy.. I said what will you do then? And she said well, that they'd have to do the research and find out the correct address. I requested that she just eliminate the foreclosure steps and do that any way... No dice...

It seemed ridiculous that one of the biggest banks in the country had a mortgage on a property and they had no idea where it was and didn't want to help correct the information. This is crazy, no?

Well after an hour of this crap, she finally gave me a fax number and said to fax the correct information, sign it and they would try to fix it again. There was no time frame for this happening. I guess we'll have to see. The balance is only $1300. If they can't fix it this time, both accounts at Chase are history.

Ugh, not even 8:00 and I need a drink. Thats gotta be a bad sign....

Happy Tuesday all... well except for the people at Chase Manhattan. I hope your day sucks.

Previous - Next

Top