Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

The sort of greenish blue mile
2003-04-24

I just got called into the office. When your company is closing down, thats not usually good news. My boss was on the phone so I had to wait and wonder... Was this the ax falling a month early? I hadn't done anything major to screw up, still you wonder and the lump in your stomach gets bigger. I was hoping to kill a lot of bills in May....

He finally hung up and asked me to take a seat, thats usually bad, but he didn't ask me to close the door, a mild bit of relief. He got right to the point, my performance review was complete. I wanted to laugh, it was like a big stone was lifted from my heart. I get a reprieve, another month. I'm also getting a 2% raise over that month. It isn't much, but hey when you are in serious bill paying mode, every penny helps.

Still I know that phone call is coming and next time there will probably be no reprieve from the govenor. But it isn't today so I guess I'll be happy for now and worry about tomorrow tomorrow.

Previous - Next

Top