Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

We don't need no freaking escrows, part Deux
2003-04-15

Well those folks who are regular readers know of the little problem my mortgage bank had understanding the concept of escrow accounts. They got really good at the taking in the money part, but not so good at the actually paying the stuff they were supposed to part. As a result, I got a notice saying my home owners insurance was cancelled.

Well a few zillion phone calls between me, the bank and the insurance company had apparently worked this all out. The bank agreed to pay, the insurance company agreed to insure and I agreed not to kill them both and all was right with the world. Except... yup, except that the bank still never sent the money.

See they apparently had a bad address for the insurance company. Oh it was right on the mortage papers and in the file, but the computer had it wrong. The bank knew it was wrong. Thats why I had them talk to the insurance company three or so weeks ago. They agreed that the mortgage papers were right, confirmed the address and then sent stuff to the wrong address again because the computer "told" them too. UGH...

Well apparently they called the insurance company again yesterday (Perhaps to ask them to change their address to match the one in the computer?) and the insurance company said the insurance runs out today because they hadn't been paid. Well this made the bank angry because they need to protect their investment in my house and they weren't going to let a little thing like them not sendign cash mess that up. Lots of yelling insued and the bank degrudgingly agreed to send a check to the correct address. God what will they ask for next.

Well I had to make several more phone calls to find this all out and by the time I got home, they said a check had been sent out by Fed Ex to be received today. We'll see...

To top it all off, when I check the mail, there is a letter from the bank telling me that in their attempts to be thorough, professional and curtious (It actually said this) they were letting me know that I had failed to renew my homeowners insurance and that I need to do it right away and fax them a copy or my mortgage could be foreclosed.

Well as you can imagine I was really thrilled to receive this little love note and called the bank to tell them of my appreciation in as loud a voice as I could muster. I asked to speak to a manager and proceeded to tell him of my appreciation of their concern and that if they hadn't screwed this up for the last three weeks that I would have insurance. Oh and how was I suppose to fax them a copy of renewal when they hadn't paid the freaking BILL!

Um, OK Ron, calm down, take deep breaths... ahhh, thats better. The manager agreed it was all screwed up, that it was all their fault, that the check had gone out to the proper address and that I should ignore the letter and appologized for it and the previous crap. We'll see....

Oh and to top it all off I need to go to two hours of training today to learn how to be a good corporate employee of the company that is making my job go away in six weeks. Can you say counter productive? I knew you could.

The only plusses? 80 degrees, sunny and sailing tonight! Now what was I saying....

Previous - Next

Top