Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

bananas and beer
2003-04-14

I've had to keep a low profile today. The place is crawling with people from the company that bought us and is closing us down. Now is not a time to be noticed. Nothing good could come of that and I'd determined to milk every last paycheck I can out of this sinking ship.

Speaking of ships, my sail yesterday had knocked off a bit of the doldrums I have been in. I even wore a dress shirt instead of a sweater for the first time in forever. The temp has to be close to 60 and the sky is perfectly blue.

I decided to walk at lunch and did most of my regular route. The empty factory I use to walk around is now a banana warehouse but beside that and a bit winter damage to some stuff nothing has changed.

The liquid lunch guy was still in the same parking lot pounding down his Buds. The three old dudes were still in the exact same place I see them every time. I think they were surprised to see me. The jogging lady zoomed by at Mach 6 just like forever.

I did about 1 3/4 miles including the full lenght of the hill behind the toothpaste factory and my head feels better. My legs on the other hand... Well that is a different story.

More and more of the racing crew are coming out of the woodwork. The sun brings them out like moths to a flame. Only sailors can probably truely understand how the need to get on the water invades your life. You don't really have a choice. You just have to do it. So we do and smile and hope the feeling lasts long enough to make it through to the next sail. And on it goes. Happy Monday!

Previous - Next

Top