Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Splish Splash or wasted away again in lawnmoverville
2003-04-04

Well, I had a pretty good day off yesterday. Did you miss me? I didn't think so... I decided to get up early and drive M.E. to work. She didn't want to leave her car at work while she flew to California. I was happy to obliege. I grabbed a coffe and hit the Club all bright eyed and bushy tailed what ever the hell that means.

The boat launchers were ahead of schedule and by the time I got to there they were almost ready to put us in. I helped move a few boats and when I got back to the main yard the truck was already backing into place.

It's pretty amazing watching them take these 40 foot boats and loading them up and driving them around all without the help of a crane. They weren't sure the tide was up enough we draw 7 1/2 feet, and it almost wasn't but eventually we floated free, a good thing.

I let Peter drive while I adjusted dock lines and fenders. We didn't go for a sail. It was just too damn cold and damp. The diesel started right up though so life was good.

As soon as we got tied up, I fired up the heaters and turned on the fridge. I got the jib put on the furler and tackled a few odds and ends and then weht home and wrestled with puppy. He likes that.

I had most of the afternoon free so I threw both non-running lawn mowers in the back of the truck and headed to to Lawnmoverville to see if I could get them fixed. One has just a minor problem, but the second, the one I hit the stump with on it's second excursion was pronounced to be terminal. It was disposed of without honors or a military funeral. Then I had lunch and back home again for a bit of a nap.

M.E. called from the airport to say good bye and that woke me up. So I got a bunch of stuff from the basement and headed back down to the boat. Neil showed up and we had a drink or two in the now nicely toasty cabin The TV was on and we watched the news. I was getting hungry but he suggested food first and so we headed out for a bite. It was good and he paid, business expense you see. Free dinner is always the best.

Then back to the club for a bit to see Charlie Brown and I headed home well before 9:00... an early night. M.E. called from the Ritz at 2:00 am to let me know she made it safely and that was it until the alarm went off at 5:00. Geeze I'l already (still) tired. TGIF.... Happy day mates!

later

Previous - Next

Top