Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

What floats my boat.... Duh, water of course.
2003-04-02

Tomorrow, the boat goes in. Tomorrow the boat goes in. Yeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa The weather is supposed to be crappy. I do not care! I've got a bunch of stuff to do tonight to get ready. I'll do it with a smile. I hope I don't fall off the deck doing the happy boat going in dance. That would suck in a big way.

I volunteered to be on the Club By-laws commitee. Opps, big mistake.... We make Bill Clinton arguing about what is, is look sane. Four meetings and we are only at page ten. For a while last night I actually thought we were going to go backwards and have less done than when we started. Too many lawyers and debaters and not enough decision makers. Blah...

A major sticking point that halted things was the new rights for domestic partners section. Everybody thinks (well not Alice) that partners of members in long term relationships should have some rights. I think it is the term Domestic Partner. Some of the board think it will get voted down because of the way it sounds. They think people will think Gay.

Folks at the club tend to be a pretty conservative group as a whole and lots of our members are older. Many of them also come from money. I am not one of them. So, anyway general agreement seeme dto be that there would be backlash against the term domestic partner, even though the state and the federal government use it all the time. How silly.

They batted around a bunch of apparently less gay associated names, but all came up lacking. I'm voting to keep the new language as written and if a bunch of bigots and old farts want to vote it down fine. Let them write the fricken thing.

The nominating commitee is also a bone of contention. A long term member but bonafied asshole got dumped from the board last year after 10% of the membership wrote letters saying he was an asshole. He is one of those guys who is always looking out for himself first and people saw it. he also had plastic hair. Well the bylaws chair took personal offense to this and has made it his mission to have it never happen again. To me it was a good thing the guy got booted and that there were provissions for do it. If he trie to weaken those, we will definately butt heads there. Stay tuned...

By the end of the night my eyes were begining to glaze over. This could be a VERY long process. Glaciers have nothing on us when it comes to speed.

Oh well the boat is going in tomorrow, the boat is going in tomorrow. Floating again will cure a lot of what ails my soul these days. Want to come play?

Happy Wednesday

Previous - Next

Top