Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Lots of work and other boring stuff (you can skip this one)
2003-03-31

Thank god I am back at work. I need the rest. Friday night we got the bottom touched up so now that is ready to go. Then we went out to dinner and drinks at the old YC and I slept until the decadent hour or 8:00. Yeah me.

The forecast for Saturday was supposed to be good so of course it rained. We hauled a truck load of stuff any way and I waxed between showers. The hull now has a full coat on it and I'd like to get one more before the splash, but we'll see.... all the lines are also rigged, now all I need to do is add sails.

Then I took a major power nap because we had to go to an awards banquet on the whole other side of the bay. Of course since this is Rhode Island thats on 35 minutes away. I did not pack an over night bag.

The food was good and we got a shirt for a first place in the Navigators Race but the trophy is missing in action. The guy who let his boat sink last year has it and didn't return it. What do expect from a guy who fails to put in a 2 inch plug in the bottom of the hull before the boat goes in.... We had a mostly good time though.

Sunday was gray and wet and raw. I slept late, read the paper and didn't head out to do boat work until way after noon. Puppy was being a real pain. I guess he feels slighted because of all the boat stuff in process. He tried to eat in this order, a hanherchief (twice) a shoe and a newsletter. On the last one he suceeded. Oh yeah I also did my state taxes. $480 back from Rhode Island Yeaaaa! $45 paid to Taxachusetts. (Boooo!)

I oiled the teak and replaced two lights, M.E. scrubbed and cleaned and the inside now looks almost as squeeky clean as the outside. We are getting pretty close....

When we finished we went out for chowder and clamcakes at a local spot that use to have the best chowder. For some reason it has gone down hill and our quest for a new spot begins. Any ideas?

We stopped by the Club for a bit had a few glasses of grapes, were home early had a fajita pizza and crashed well before 10:00. It's tough to get old.... but soon I'll be old and floating :-) Happy Monday!

Previous - Next

Top