Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Sports Junkie?
2003-03-25

Yesterday was just one of those days. Work was long and boring, I was tired and everything just seemed one step out of phase. Maybe it was me? I guess it doesn't really matter.

We left the house early to get to the Dunk to pick up our six tickets for last nights basketball game. We zip into the city, no problem, dispite the traffic guy reporting a major accident on 95 north. Must have been in a different spacial plane, because it sure wasn't on the highway.

I wonder if these guys make stuff up sometimes, just because they can. Hey Bob, lets tell them Route 6 is closed and see if they believe us? Hey lets tell them that traffic is moving smoothly right after there is a 100 car pile up... Great senses of humor those traffic guys. Ha ha ha

Well we get to the arena way early and are immediately followed by a guy singing at the top of his lungs and periodicly shouting as loud as he could hey man I'm F'd up on heroin. Nice... It's good to see the youth of today having hobbies rather than just wasting their time, oh say working?

Well we picked up the pace and apparently we can still walk faster than junkies. Yeah us. We walk right up to the will call lines and show ID to get the tickets, except they aren't there. I was the first one to call Sunday morning. The head guy remembers filling the order, and yet they are just not there. Wonderful.

I am one of several people in the same proverbial boat. We are NOT happy campers. The ticket dude is trying to sort all this our and people (read me) are starting to get angry. He finally trys to placate me by giving me different tickets IN THE CHEAP SEATS! Ugh, dude we paid $25 each for the seats we ordered and if you don't fix this in any other way than by giving me $10 tickets I am going to pull off that bad hair piece and do a stomp dance on your fake ass hair.

The dude finally ponies up some better seats, although no where near where we should have been. BLAH.... If I had an extra blood pressure pill on me I would have taken it. I was probably in semi stroke range at this point. GRRRRRR

So we did what any other self respecting person would have done in the same situation. We hit our regular dinner spot and drank heavily. We had to move from our regular dining seats (do you see a trend here) to the library room. There are no books in this room, but there is wallpaper that looks like books. Impressive huh? You so wish you had book wallpaper don't you?

Well at least Jo Ann our lovely regular waitress was smiling, and the food was good. We also figured out on the last night of the season, that I would have saved a lot of money by just buying a bottle of wine instead of 46 glasses I normally drink. Live and learn.

The game was awful. We couldn't shoot straight. The refs couldn't see and we were far from the beer stands and bathrooms. We did get to see the worlds largest electrician try to fix a problem with the 35 second clock though. This guy had to weigh 500 pounds. He camoflaged this bulk by wearing clothes that would make a 70's pimp proud. I wonder if his momma was there? I wonder if he weighed 500 pounds before it was the XDunkin XDonuts Center? And so it goes.

So today is Tuesday and I'm still tired and still very bored. Iraq is threatening to use the nerve gas they swear they don't have (Hmmm perhaps the traffic reporters are Iraqi spies?) and the war rages on. Lets hope it is a better day.... for all of us.

Previous - Next

Top