Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Misty water colored memories...
2003-03-21

Bill was one of those guys who was just always there. Not somebody that stuck out, more like a fixture or the carpet. I related to Bill because we went through a lot of the same things in life, except he got his massive dose of reality later in life than I did. Timing is everything in life.

I knew some intimate details of his life, and yet never knew what he did for a living. Thats pretty odd huh? For the last year he didn't do anything. He had a bad heart and had been through M.E.s Cath lab several times and he always stopped over to say thank you to her and buy us a drink. He trusted my sailing ability and asked me to do the sea trials on the sailboat he was selling to CB while he was away buying his new boat. I was honored, I truely was.

His doctor told him to quit smoking and drinking if he wanted to live. He quit smoking, but drinking, well it just filled in too many holes in Bills' life to be given up that easily. Funny, his doctor was right, but not in the way he intended.

His wife threw him out of the house a few weeks ago after she found out he had bought a new 43 foot powerboat. Bill needed the water as much as he needed a drink, but I guess she didn't understand that. I wonder if she feels partially responsible, like Peter, the bartender does? How do you live with stuff like that? Not easily I'm sure.

Well at least now, hopefully he is in peace. Thats all we can hope for anybody.

Oh a few special shout outs.... Special thanks to our neighbors to the north for booing through the entire National Anthem at the hockey game in Montreal last night. You can take the person out of France, but you can't take the French out of the person I guess.

Oh and to all the peace protesters who blocked streets preventing fire and ambulances from getting through and tying up police resources that could have been better used fighting crime or preventing terrorists, a big thank you to you too. Apparently one of the calls was for a man having a heart attack. The rescue got there too late. That makes the number of civillians killed by the protesters exactly the same as that killed by the millitary. One. But yours was for a good cause so that makes it OK right? If you really want to do something positive, plant a tree or visit a shut in feed the homeless. Standing in the street blocking traffic shouting no blood for oil just makes you look stupid.

God I am so glad it is Friday. Can I go home now?

Previous - Next

Top