Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Speedy Gonzales
2003-03-18

For a fairly intellignet person, I sometimes do some dumb things. Yesterday was a doozy. My system has always been sensitive to stimulants. When I first started drinking coffee it would give me the shakes for an hour or so after drinking a large. I thought it was a hoot them, but I learned at an early age that I needed to be careful with such things. I usually am.

Being a child of the 70's, I grew up in a culture where drugs were pretty prevelent and some how managed to try quite a bit of stuff. One thing I learned fast, anything that boosted my system would make me sick. Speed, coke, hell even No Doze were definately bad news and to be avoided at all costs. Things that slowed me down, like a nice glass of grapes or two were much better and could be tolerated. Such is my system.

Well as those of you who read yesterdays entry know, I was delayed going to lunch by an spatially defective mail man and his truck. Trying to hurry and get back to work on time I guzzled a medium ice coffee in about three gulps. Bad decision...

I got back to my desk and the headache was almost immediate as was the tension filling my body. So... I did what any other self respecting believer in science would do, I turned to pills. Better living through chemistry. I had my migrane pills in the truck and took one. Pretty soon I realized it was a mistake.

The pills I take are a perscription pain killer. That's a good thing right? Well after a few minutes my headache went away, but my system started to go haywire. (Note to self.. Find out why wire associated with hay is a bad thing.) Then it came back to me, the damn migrane pills are loaded with caffine to prevent the other stuff in there from making you fall asleep as soon as you take them. Oops....

Well it got pretty bad for a while. I had to stop on the way home to be sick. My whole left side tensed up and my stomach was a mess.. I mostly stayed out of the high speed lane in case I needed to do an emergency bail out. Fortunately I didn't.

When I got home I tried to lay down, but all that bad energy wasn't going to let that happen. SO I got my stuff and went down to the boat and moved the stands and sanded and painted and did a bunch of other stuff at 600 miles per hour until the symptoms went away. Phew...

Then I rested. I stopped by the bar for one glass of Merlot and found they had all kinds of food left over from the Sunday night dinner. I ate stuffed mushrooms and snail salad and watched the news. I had survived.

A few of the other members were celebrating St Pattys day by drinking Black and Tans washed down with shots of Irish whisky. I politely declined and went home to watch the President with M.E. and puppy. Just another wonderful day in paridise.

Previous - Next

Top