Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

I'm sorry this road is closed.
2003-03-07

I never did make it to the doctors yesterday. Oh I left at noon for my 1:00 appointment. It should have been plenty of time. So why didn't I get home until 3:30? Well first of all the flurries predicted turned into 8 inches of snow. That was bad enough, but the worst was the rain before the snow that that turned 95 into somehting more suitable for a Zamboni than a truck.

There were cars all off the road and accidents every where, but still, I was making slow and steady progress... There were antibiotics with my name on them.

Well all good things have to come to and end and so did this. I heard about a 100 car pile up directly ahead on 95 south that had the road closed for several miles. The state troopers diverted me to 495. My options were Cape Cod or Cow Hampshire... Neither of them was closer to Rhode Island. I hit the back roads.

I called the doctors office to inform them of the delay and the receptionist, all nice and warm in her office informs me that the delay is on 95 north. Um lady, I'm the one sitting her in the freaking snow and ice. I'm the one who just got waved off the highway by the cop. I know where the delay is... I don't think she was convinced.

Now driving 60 or so miles to work every day is a pain in general, but not stretching that to maybe 80 miles over snow and ice covered back roads with all the trucks and cars from the highway added in is a real joy.

A few times I was stuck on hills and thought, this is it, I can't go any farther, but the lil red truck kept chugging albiet slowly and I kept moving. I finally made it to 295 and 40 mile an hour speeds, well at times any way. The last two miles took 30 minutes, a grand speed of 4 miles an hour. Hell I can walk that fast, but not in my boat shoes which I was unfortunately wearing.

I slugged down a few glasses of wine as soon as I got in the door and took my wet shoes off. They guy next door plowed the driveway again.

Is it spring yet? Please let it be spring. Sniffle, cough, blah....

Previous - Next

Top