Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

3 with the works to go please
2002-12-27

I was going to have chowder for lunch but the place was closed. Pizza was the best I could do. Can heartburn be far behind? I need to fax a pepcid to California to somebody who ate beans for breakfast and who isn't even a guy.... Pretty neat/weird huh? Faxed Pepcids probably taste the same as the regular ones I bet. Not exactly haut cusine.

My favorite breakfast food (other than cold pizza of course) is these kind of hot weiners called New York System. Why they are called that nobody knows because you can't get them in New York or Mass or Connecticut. They are only available in Rhode Island. They are also affectionately called gaggers and belly busters.

Weiners are a special kind of sort of hotdog that have square ends. Nobody knows what kind of meat? is inside them and we are all probably better off that we don't know. They are cooked on a grill preferably lined with aluminum foil. There is sort of a general rule, the divier the place the better the weiners taste. I'm not sure why that is. Weiners are required to be served on steamed buns. They have bright yellow mustard and onions really cut up small and some kind of meat sauce and celery salt. That is known as the works or all the way. You can walk in and say 3 with the works and they know exactly what you want.

Leave a bag of these puppies in your car for five minutes and the smell will linger for days. "Oh had weiners huh?" Yeah last Tuesday...... They are the perfect late night food after drinking and when a craving strikes, well you just have to find them which isn't hard here. Most places are open way late and have knicknames like heartburn haven, greasy spoon. Yum... I used to be able to eat six, now three is usually my limit. With age comes widsdom.

When I was young and living alone I use to buy them by the stack to keep in the fridge. It was often the only food I had in there amongst the beers. I easily lived on weiners, macaroni and cheese and beer for about a year. It did keep shopping simple. Perhaps it is also the reason I trashed my stomach. Oh well, it was worth it, right? Hmm is it diner time yet?

Previous - Next

Top