Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

A day in the life....
2002-12-18

Let me start this off by saying I love puppy. He is cute and cuddlely and smart. Sometimes I also want to kill him. Yesterday was one of those days. Puppy and I have a routine. I come home and let him out to do his thing. Sometimes this goes smoothly, other times it involves lots of yelling on my part and ignoring on his. We both know our roles.. Life goes on.

Yesterday he was good, came right back without me having to go trudging through the snow yelling my fool head off. I'm sure the neighbors were appreciative. The smoothness should have been a sign. The paperback in the middle of the kitchen floor didn't give me any hints either. Hell it wasn't even chewed, strange....

Part of our routine is that after he goes out he runs back in the house and stands by the bedroom door. I open it and he jumps on the bed and we play run the belly. It is his second favorite game next to touch the feet, touch the ears. I do most of the rubbing while he supplies lots of wiggles and doggy kisses. Hey we are easily amused.

Well when I opend the bedroom door last night, thats when my sense of impending doom crept in. There on the floor were both his chew bone and his ball. This is not a good thing. Puppy will amuse himself for hours with his toys, he'll chew, chew, chew until it is time for a nap, then wake up and chew some more. Well with his toys out of the picture you knew something was going to be substituted. I ran to the living room. Always the scene of the crime.

I passed another uneaten paperback and for a second there I had hope. It was unfounded. There in the middle of the rug was the remains of the checkbook and it's nice leather case. Little bits of checks and deposit slips were every where. The supermarket cards and even the Petco Card were on the couch, teeth mark enhanced for my shopping pleasure. UGH...

So I gathered up all the pieces I could find and tried to reconsitute my financial life. First thing I did was call the bank and balance the checkbook. No use putting bad info in a brand new register right? Well it didn't balance... In my favor... Whats up with that? That never happens. So I sort through all the doggie eaten scraps and find that I put a deposit in as a debit, I am suddenly $400 richer. Yeaaaaaaaaa I also had only 3 outstanding checks too so putting together the new register was relatively painless. Oh and I didn't kill puppy although he knew enough to stay away until the carnage was repaired. Smart puppy....

I now have 300 business cards with the new companies name and logo on them that I have to use up in the next two months. I passed them out last night at the bar. Maybe I'll give some out at the market tonight too. I'd hate to see them go to waste.

I'm thinking of sueing the state of Massachusetts for false advertising. I want them to change the name of the high speed lane on Rt 95 north to the sometimes high speed lane with lots of times that you have to panic brake to a dead stop. I know it would be tough to fit on a sign, but boy is it more accurate.

We stayed way to late last night. I need a nap. We also got invited to another Christmas party on the weekend. Ugh.. well you don't really need a liver to live, do you? On the brigher side hey maybe I can pass out more cards... or not...

Previous - Next

Top