Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Yes, Fiskeville and Clayville really are places
2002-12-02

I really need to get my act together. Yeah I know it is cold and the sailing season is over... I know my joints are creaky and the the job situation is not good... I know the future is uncertain and I have no clue where to go from here.... but hell, moping about it won't help. I'm almost pretty sure of it. Neither will consuming large quantities of alcohol or eating everything in sight. I've tried that already and no progress surprisingly was made.

So....I just need to try to keep an even keel (note: boating reference) and do my best to change things. No promises, but I'll do my best and that is the best that can be expected.

We have two basketball games to go to this week so it will be a busy and expensive one. The games help me pass the winter so for that reason they are considered necessary. The tickets are also already paid for so not showing is not an option. We found a free place to park last week, saving a whopping $8. This coincidently is almost the price of a 24 oz Heinekin or Corona. A minor miracle? More like a major rip off. Sigh....

Hehehe I applied for the job of being the manager of the only information/rest stop in Rhode Island today. I'd be so good at that. When we were younger we made it our mission to go to every village, every town, every city and every state park or beach in the state. We spent hours driving dirt roads just to see where they ended up. I studied maps just to see where we missed.

Do you think you know your state? Well, I don' think it is possible to know anyplace like you can Lil Rhody. We really set our minds to it. I've been to the 4 wineries, most of the Bay Islands, walked the 8 miles of the tressle trail. I've sledded at the sand banks and camped at the beaches. They couldn't find somebody who knew the stste better. But.... I won't get it. I don't have connections. Somebody's retarded cousin who couldn't find the state house with a GPS will. Sigh... Besides who hires an engineer for their people skills?

I do have some though. I worked counter at a local licquer store just to kill time after my brother died and while my dad was wasting away with cancer. Sometimes you just have too much time to fill, you know? Come to think of it, I lost that job because they hired somebodies cousin. Hmm, We also went on strike then at the submarine factory. So I guess things could be worse right? Right...

I just remembered something weird... When ever we went by some place new that had a weird name or sign, that place would be on the news for some reason the next day. That still happens to me now sometimes. I think the newsmen may be following me. Or maybe they are tapping my brain waves? Nah....

HWell any way have a WONDERFUL afternoon. Just by reading this entry, you've earned it.

Previous - Next

Top