Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Did you hear a splash?
2002-12-01

The year of the divorce, when I lived on the boat and ate rice and beans several times a week because thats what the budget allowed I was in all reality still pretty happy. I was out of a bad situation, I figured the money thing would eventually sort itself out, I had friends, was warm, hell I even had a teeny little Christmas tree.

My friends all worried though. They were afraid I'd freeze to death, or starve to death or turn into a hermit or something. The one concern they had that was valid was that they were afraid that some day I'd splash.

Falling off the dock into the icy water with nobody around to help is pretty much a sure ticket to eternal rest when the water temp is just above freezing. You only last a few minutes before stuff starts shutting down. It happens more than you'd imagine. The docks are always icy in the winter and between the motion and the pitch of the ramps and the gymnastics you need to do to get up on the decks, it is way too easy to do.

I had a ladder tied to one side of the dock just in case and I always hoped I'd make it there if the worst ever happened. Fortunately for me it never did.

So I'm watching the news last night and I see the marina next door front and center on the screen. Some guy living aboard was missing since Thanksgiving night. They found him yesterday... in the water. They weren't giving any names and I hope it isn't one of the folks I know, but even if it isn't, it hits a little too close to home, you know?

My youngest brother drowned and since then, I really don't go in the water much. Oh I'll spend all day on top sailing along, but in it? No thanks. While I use to swim like a fish, it is no longer on my list of things to do.

The Coast Guard sort of rescued a guy who was sailing to Bermuda solo. I say sort of because he has engine problems and apparently blew out a sail, but his boat was fine. The jib was still roilled on the furler, but the main looked a little shredded. Um, no storm sails? No back up main? Can't sail with just a jib? Someone with more courage than skill or brains? Probably. M.E. doesn't understand how anybody could want to sail in the ocean alone. I can....

I guess I'm going to make puppy and me some breakfast. You are welcome to join us if you can be here in the next 20 minutes. Thats eastern time :-)

Happy Sunday!

Previous - Next

Top