Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Back in the boat stands again
2002-11-26

Well she is out, all set up on solid ground her bottom scrubbed, so out of her element, almost sad looking... Winter in New England, ahh it sucks so.

I forgot to unlatch the back gate so I couldn't drop the stern platform to get on board to take off the fenders and docklines. No matter how I tried I couldn't reach it with my 10 foot step ladder. My old ladder was locked in the service fence and everybody but Jenn our impossibly thin office manager (she lives on coffe and cigarettes and maybe lettuce) was gone for the day. Jenn offered to unlock it for me. It was kind of windy and I was sure she would blow away, but I think the wad of keys in her pocket kept her in contact with solid earth. Jen is cute, but wouldn't you be afraid you might break her if you ever got physical? I guess it hasn't happened yet, but it might.. Still it has to be cool to have the ability to disappear just by turning sideways. I'll never have that super power.

The keel smush from our visit to the ledge in Woods Hole is minor and I'm just going to grind it and not even bother with filler. The rest of the bottom was decent. I'll start sanding in a few weeks when it is good and dry. Hopefully wax will go on this weekend if it is warm enough. 40 will be fine.

The forecast is calling for 5 inches of snow tomorrow so my schedule for the day is all messed up. I have an appointment with the blood suckers at 5:30 but now also need to get the cover on the boat before the snow flies. I'm going to try to get in early at the clinic. Then I can kill two birds in the same night. I am so not ready for snow. Unless they cancel work. They won't.

M.E. brought puppy down to check out the bottom and visit at the club. He is so cute. Everybody loves him. Half the bar emptied out to pay him a visit. He loves attention.

Johhny the Chins boat came back from repairs and Neil and I helped him tie it up. As a reward I was purchased a glass of grapes or two, well maybe four counting the one I bought for myself.

I went home and ate healthy food. Then I fell asleep during racing and never set my alarm. I was only 12 minutes late for work and nobody noticed. If you were driving on Rt 95 North, that red blurr going by was me. I only broke the sound barrier once, I think.

Today I need to make a list of needed bot repairs and upgrades. As so I will. I also need to call again on the job lead. Anybody need an Engineer who sails? Apply within...

Previous - Next

Top