Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Excuse me sir ....Pffft!
2002-11-14

Well the day started out pretty well, I got out on time, traffic was fine and I looked OK, I even wore a tie. Who would have figured that things would be downhill from there.

I got to the Covention Center for the job fair just before noon. I expected it to be busy downtown and it was but I found a parking spot on the fisrt level and started to back into it. A car pulled up behind me and I waved him by. Instead he backed right into the spot I was pulling into. Well that pissed me off royally and I backed right up to his bumper and let out a spate of expletives that would have made a sailor blush. I could see the guy locking his doors and he must have been thinking, oops mistake. He didn't make any effort to move from the spot though. I flipped him off a few times and then set off to find another spot. Five levels later I did.

The Job fair was on the fifth level of the CC. I took the escalators up and saw a line at the door of people signing in. There wasn't anybody chacking people so I just walked in. I was immediately disappointed. The room was mostly empty. They had maybe twenty or so companies and most of them were looking for phone sales, drug store people cashiers or financal services stuff.

There were only two manufactuing places Tiffany (who didn't have any engineering openings) and Electric Boat the submarine people. I left resumes with both and was out of there in less than ten minutes. Sigh...

On the way back to the truck I was a little congested and had to expectorate. By some strange coincidence it ended up on the windshield of the jerk who stole my parking space. Truely amazing, what are the chances of that happening huh? Bastard....

Well now I'm almost home with nothing to do. It's raining, and I'm trying not to think of eating so I figure I'll go for a haircut. I drive out to the barber and there are no cars in front. Great... until I realize he's gone too. The sign says he'll be back at two.

Well this was enough, I caved. I hit the Grille on Main and had a big chicken ceaser salad. I also had a Vodka Tonic, my first drink in almost two weeks. It was tasty so I had a second. Things went more smoothly after that.

I got my hair cut, took the dog out and grabbed some stuff off the boat. I stopped by the club the regular crowd showed up and I had a few more drinks. M.E. called and I asked if she wanted to go out for dinner. She came down and we stayed a bit more. Dinner was at the Tavern and we both had fish which was dellicious. I was full and tired and slightly drunk by the time we got home. I slept like the proverbial log.

So now today is another day. I sent out three resumes, faxed four designs to Costa Rica and haven't spit on anybody yet. Oh yeah, I'm hungry. Happy Thursday.

Previous - Next

Top