Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

I want to be inspected...
2002-11-12

Ahh, happy Monday/Tuesday. I love short weeks and this one should be shorter than most. Tomorrow there is a job show at the convention center and I plan to be there resumes in hand. I need to find something soon. To Cobra us for insurance is going to be $800 a month. That will drain the bank book pretty quickly.

On a more positive note, I guess I made a good impression in my previous interview for, the one job I'm still in the running for. Hopefully the second interview will happen pretty quickly.

Also on a positive note, my truck passed inspection without major expenses so maybe things are begining to turn in a positive direction? I'll keep you posted.

After the inspection I went down to the boat and got quite a bit done. I took off and folded the mainsail, emptied the medicine cabinets and most of the lockers. I also got the foreguy and the bimini frame off too. Ahh, progress but in a sad way.

We got the final race of the season the "Hangover Race" in on Sunday. It is called the Hang over race because it is the day after the awards banquet. It is a pretty simple race, out to the red bell off Patience Island and back, staggered start, first boat to finish wins.

It started out absolutely beautiful, 65 degrees sunny, blowing 15 gusting 30. We ended up taking the new Beneteau 36.7, a bad mistake. Not only is the boat tender as hell it also was pretty much decomissioned for the season. That meant no foul weather gear and no beer. Well the beer was easy to fix, but the foulies, well we didn't think they'd be necessary. WRONG.

We got a decent start and were moving pretty well. The wind was off the beam and we were doing 7+ knots. Neil was on the main and he was really in charge because in the puffs, the boat had absolutely no control even with the blade up. The driver/owener was pretty green and even M.E noticed the erratic driving. Interesting to say the least....

Well we were having fun dispite sailing poorly and then it started, first a sprinkle, then a steady downfall, then a deluge. It thundered and rained like there was no tomorrow. We had no rain gear and it was a long way back so we just kept racing. The wind was so strong at times that the rain hurt. I almost lost a contact lens on more than one occasion.

By the time we finally finished we were all soaked to the skin (good move considering our insurance situation huh?). We finished last, dropped the sails and headed to the dock, put the boat away and dashed home to dry off. Funny thing, nobody regretted going. Nobody ever said you had to have brains to own a sailboat. Two more weeks till haul... sob

Previous - Next

Top