Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Good bye Ruby Tuesday
2002-10-30

Well last night was an interesting night. I showed up at the doctors appointment on time and got right into the paperwork I have to fill out every week. The nurses there are really great and they try to move me in and out as fast as possible.

Well Caroline comes by with the card for my next appointment and I tell her that unless things change dramaticly there isn't going to be a next appointment. That I'm finished with the trial and with the doctor.

Of course my timing is as impecable as usual and the doctor walks in just as I'm saying this stuff. She was behind me and heard the whole thing. Perfect...

So guess what I get evaluated and now the numbers say I'm in full relapse and get to go back on meds for free. Good news right, well, maybe. The trial rules say that if you are in relapse you go back into the study pool. I could be given full drugs or only a partial dose. The partial dose does not work on me at all. Hell the full dose only makes VERY slow progress. I was not a happy boy.

The next trial phase is 12 weeks. I will not wait that long if nothing is happening and told them so. If I don;t see improvement by Thanksgiving, they can take their study and stuff it. Seems appropriate right, Thanksgiving, stuffing?

So any way I'm kind of bummed but I get home to a happy M.E. They offered her the job at the same pay as she is making now. A minor problem, no OT and she has to pay 35% of her health coverage. That blows a $6,000 hole in the budget. Just what we need right now...

I know she wants this job badly so I encourage her even though I'm quickly doing math in my head. Where are we going to come up with an extra $115 a week? We'll find a way to manage I guess. I sure hope I fid a new job before this place closes down...

So, M.E. is going to see them today and make a counter proposal, asking for a bit more money to defray some of the difference. Hopefully they will say yes. Even if they don't, I told her to take it any way. It's what she wants. Like I said before, we'll find a way to make it work out. Hey I can live on beans and rice.

I bought some fish for dinner and cooked it on the grill. Then I sanded and patched the walls in the kitchen some more and was ready to slap on some paint. The can was empty. How fitting... so I went to bed.

Happy Wednesday.

Previous - Next

Top