Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

15 knots and 60 degrees
2002-10-28

It was a pastel drive in. Well except for the part where I had to make an emergency lane change because the guy behind me was a little slow on the crash braking uptake. His eyes were pretty large as he skidded by. They unlike the sky were not pink or pale blue. If fear had a color, it would have been him.

I didn't accomlplish much this weekend except for having a bit of fun and catching up on LOTS of sleep. Not a bad thing I guess.

Yesterdays sail was awesome. We took out the Nelson Marek 43 a real speedster. This boat rates 18 My C&C by contrast rates 78. In boat ratings, the lower number, the faster the boat and this on is HOT. Besides that it isn't much to speak of, very spartan inside and it draws almost TEN feet of water. This was a fact I had to keep reminding Neil as he tried to run us into the bottom while working out his competitive streak against a new IMX 40. When his juices get going, wh'd drive a boat through a freaking rock just to stay ahead. Not cool.

I kept telling him he was too close to the mud bank off Calf Pasture Point. He basicly told me to shut up until Len the boat owner realized how close we were and made him fall off. Ten foot draft and a falling tide would have made for a long wait. UGH. Neil's been on this mud flat before and he doesn't draw ten feet. He really needs to learn to chill.

The boat drove wonderfully though and it was a fun trip. He wants to get into next years Sunday rotation. Sounds good to me. Even if we had to bring our own beer.

Oh yeah I guess I should mention the job interview on Friday. It went well. The job seems like a perfect match for my skill set. It looks to be a very busy environment, I'd mostly be on my own and have a great office. The hours are flexible and I'd be working directly for the VP. There is plenty of room for advancement and good visability if I do a good job. Money is not an issue. Oh yeah they guy use to play ball with my dad back in the old days and I got an excellent recommendation from the head sales guy.

I left with positive feelings. The down side... there were two more people to interview, and I've left feeling positive before and not gotten the position. I'm keeping my fingers crossed, but not going to get excited. The rejections hurt too much if you do.

I really do hope it works out though. Even though you have to empty your pockets and take off your belt and shoes to be xrayed before you can leave. Alll these people do is process precious metals into jewelry and they don't want folks taking home little samples. Everybody gets checked, every time they exit. I can live with that. I'm supposed to hear by the end of the week. We'll see...

Previous - Next

Top