Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Take that vampires
2002-10-21

Happy Monday!

I had a fairly productive weekend for a change. Friday night I made a big pot of home made chicken soup. It was good, so I didn't feel the need to anything more dramatic for the rest of the night. Exciting aren't I?

Saturday I really hit high gear. I mowed the front and side yards, mulching to bits what few leaves have left the trees. Then I ran out of gas literally... and stopped. Maybe I'll Aquire more petrol finish up tonight.

Then I got into distructo mode and started ripping apart the rest of the kitchen. The previous owners of my house were apparently vampires. They built it with small windows and lots of trees so it could stay dark all the time. Apparently this was not good enough. Somebody decided that hey, maybe it will be a good idea to put barn board over half the house and dark un-matching panneling over the rest. Oh yeah, some fake brick with black gunk to hold it in will really complete the scene. Add some dark cabinets and bamboo shades and Voila, now it realy looks like a cave. (it also smelled liek one too UGH!)

Well I do not turn into a bat nor fear garlic so I have made it my lifes mission to bring light into the darkness. We've cut down 20 trees, ripped out all the panneling and replastered, took out all the fake brick and most of the barn board. Saturday I decided the it was time for the rest to go.

Barnboard does not go down without a fight. It is probably the toughest of your semi-decorative? finishes. Barnboard is 1/2" thick weathered solid wood that has an interlocking feature so that each board lays under part of the previous one. Add 100 nails ber board, some glue and you really have a fun afternoon. I have the cut up hands to prove it. I did manage to rip it all out thought and puppy only ate a few bits and no nails. A definate plus.

I had to take one of the cabinets down, and move the refrigerator for the first time in five or so years. Um you don't want to know what it looked like under there, honest. It is all clean and shiny now though.

I spliced in some new wall board, got it taped and have one coat of joint compound (sorry Mo, not that kind of joint) on the tapes and holes. Tonight, coat two goes on. My life is a movie, no?

Sunday was really productive. I slept late, showered shaved and went sailing on the 40.7 all day. It was a beautiful day and well worth blowing off any work I could have accomplished. except for having too much sail up (Damn that Neil). Life was good.

I'm having a good morning so far. I hope you are too.

Previous - Next

Top