Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

pardon me do you have any Grey Poupon?
2002-10-18

Happy Friday!!! Finally... It has been a long week. My boss is on vacation so I think I am going to bail a little early today too. I'll find a reason. Maybe noon?

Last night was just wonderful. Totally... M.E. forgot she had a nail appointment after work so I headed down to the boat solo. The only one I invited was Neil becuse he mostly understands and appreciates the kind of sailing I do in the fall. When he was ready to give up sailing due to his over competitive nature, fall sailing saved him. That was a very good thing so I invite him often and he usually comes.

Bob met us on the dock at exactly 5:00 and we headed out. He adjusted the idle and we headed out so he could check on the vibration problem I've been having. Well we decided it isn't the engine and it isn't the shaft. We know the cutless bearing and strut were good so that leaves the propeller. It might be unbalanced. It probably gets that from my side of the family. We'll pull it when the boat comes out and have it checked. Bob recommended slow speeds until then. We dropped him off on the fly at the fuel dock and went for a sail.

It was a perfect night to chill. West winds four knots, flat water, a few sailboats, and quiet as, well as quiet as life can get. We talked in near whispers because it seemed to be the right thing to do. I had Neil drive while I set things up, got us drinks and shut off the engine. We ghosted along as the sun set and the nearly full moon rose. We did not turn on the radio.

Neil being Neil started to chase a Beneteau 50 that had a good head start on us. By the time we got to the can at Sally Rock he had caught them and easily pulled away. He sailed the whole down wind leg out to the country club and then said here and gave me the helm. I got to sail back up wind.

It was dark and the moon was over my shoulder and shimmering on the water in a huge glowing path as we sailed close hauled back towards the club. We were doing 4 1/2 knots and it was still pretty warm. I couple of times I could feel a smile breaking out. I needed this sail so badly..

There was a little (28 foot) sailboat ahead and I could see they were pinching so that we didn't sail above them, do of course I did. It turned out to be Bob and Mo in their Saber 28. They never had a chance :-) I didn't realize who they were until he started talking. I invited them out Sunday. Maybe they'll come.

When we came to the end of the Bay I gave Neil back the helm rolled up the jib and got the dock lines and fenders set up. The launch had stopped running a while back so we took a dock for the night. As soon as we were tied up, Neil ran up the dock for a finance commitee meeting he was just about to be late for. I put things away and stood on the deck in the quiet and moonlight. I stood there for a while and it felt right.

The phone rang and it was M.E. I told her to come down and I'd take her out to dinner, so she came and had a wine, and then another and finally another. She's on call all weekend so I guess she was stocking up. We finally left and had dinner at home.

The alarm clock, (no not strawberry, god I am impressed all you people knew that old song) went off way too early as it usually does. One more day stolen from mother nature.

Previous - Next

Top