Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Amy what you gonna do.....
2002-10-16

I have conceded. It is a battle I cannot win, so I surrendered. The forces are just too strong. The forecast much too bleak. I finally shook aside the remainder of my illusions and took out the the only remaining air conditioner last night.

Maybe it was the frost yesterday?

Maybe it was todays forecast of driving rain and 40 knot winds? Maybe it was the chance of f-ing snow predicted for Friday? Snow? I'm not ready for snow.

The ride in with the heat full time and the lack of sun makes me think I made the right decision. I'd be happy to be wrong.

All the way in this morning I kept thinking, I don;t want to go to law school, I don't want to go to law school. I know, it doesn't make sense unless you know the story. Back during my divorce, I decided to do the Block Island race. I was short of crew so I asked these two women sailors I knew from on line if they wanted to play. One I knew pretty well and liked quite a bit. The other Amy I had only a passing relationship with and I thought she was a bit of a space shot, but I needed the bodies. They both said yes.

I explained that this was a crew situation only and that I supplied the boat, food and booze, but one on the island I wasn't going to provide entertainment. I just needed time to unwind. They said OK and we made arrangements to hook up.

Both of them talked like seasoned veterans which was a good thing because besides them, it was just me and Pretty Boy. We picked them up in Newport on the way to the race course. They looked the part, sailing bags with lots of patches, shirts with the logos of some of the top boats. Looks can be decieving. They were fluff.

Fluff is not functional. Fluff is there for decorative purposes only. Both of them were cute. Amy looked better in a bikini than any girl I've ever seen. Since their usual position was sprawled out on the deck soaking up rays, and since it was hot, we got to see those bikinis alot.

Well girl #2 whos name I can't remember complained all weekend.. Why isn't there hot water? Why aren't you coming clubbing with us? Blah, blah, blah. Amy at least offered to help some and tried to learn. She really didn't want to be fluff all her life and offered to lend a willing, if unskilled hand when ever asked.

It was blowing on the race out and we didnt have a good race. Girl #2 actually knew how to do a few things but really wasn't interested most of the time. Amy knew nothing, but was a bit more enthusiastic. We finished 6th of 15. We got the sails down, found our dock and squared the boat away. Then we went to the post race party and had a few drinks. Then I fed them and sent them on their merry way.

I put on some mellow music, poured a glass of grapes and sat in the cockpit watching the stars and decompressing while they went out clubbing on the island. A few friends with like minds joined me. We all crashed early.

Around 11:30 I hear this commotion on deck. It is two of the crew of a friends boat and they have Amy. She is trashed. They throw her in a bunk and leave. Amy starts to snore. I never heard BP and girl #2 come back but obviously they got along OK because they ended up in the forward cabin together.

Around 2:30 I start to hear this wail coming from the head (bathroom), help, help, somebody help me. I don't want to go to law school. It was Amy. She couldn't find the bathroom light and locked herself in the bathroom.

Well I figured her friend would rescue her, but no... After about ten minutes of I don't want to go to law school in an increasing volume, PB announces, well Ron, you invited her, you get her out. Ugh.. So I got dressed, managed to unlock the door and helped Amy pull up her shorts and get to bed. But she isn't happy. She is supposed to be sleeping in the forward cabin and PB is in her spot. They argue (like only drunks can)for a while until I tell them all to be quiet....and they are. Ahhh the power of being the captain. LOL

Well the next morning, Amy appologizes what seemed like a thousand time. Her "friend" ragged on her for the rest of the weekend. I began to become very tired of "friend". It was starting to be a long weekend. Amy tried to make up for making a jer of herself by trying to help around the boat some. I realized that while a mess, she had a good heart. Dispite that rocky first night, we stayed friends.

On the race home it was all down wind and PB and I sailed the boat while the girls sunned and slept. Both were pretty hug over and not really up for more than that. We sailed well and took the gun and first place on the way back and ended up third over all. Not too bad.

Amy went to law school and got her degree. Last I heard she was engaged and I wish her well. I see girl #2 every year at Figawi. She heard through the grapevine that we have a bigger boat and always offer to crew. I just smile and never answer. today just seemed like an I don't want to go to law school morning... Happy Hump Day

Previous - Next

Top