Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

You never forget your first love
2002-10-02

I just got googled twice for Tales of the barbeque... Weird.. I also got googles twice for CaptainRon this morning. One more and it could be my google record for a day. Hmm, do I get a trophy for that? Probably not.

I had a big iced coffee, cream, no sugar just now. It isn't helping. Maybe I can just mainline caffiene? Or the chemicals we are mixing. That might do the trick for a while. Then again maybe not...

Now for something really different... boats I've owned.. 19' wooden Corsair, Windrose 24 with swing keel and pop top(maybe the worst boat ever built),US Yachts Buccaneer 25, Pearson 28-1, Elan 32, New York 36 (1993 National Champs), Goman Express 35TM (tall mast), and the current C&C 37+. The plus is an extra three feet. It's really fourty feet long.

Most boat companies try to stretch the truth. 39'1" becomes a 40, but not good old C&C. Maybe they had a lot of 3s and 7s left in the number bin and ran out of 4s? I know you don't care about any of this crap and I'm rambling. On a possitive note, well, no, there isn't one here. I stand corrected.

My first boat was a pretty little wooden one. She needed lots of work, but she had beautiful lines and was in my budget at the time. I got all the boys over to help me scrape and paint her. She was white and light blue, pretty as a picture and leaked like a sieve.

When ever we came down to sail her we usually had to bail her out because most of the time she was sitting on the bottom. We had no clue back then, but we did have fun. We didn't know enough to be afraid. We'd throw on some beer and head out and try to conquer the world. Some days we did, others, well.....

She never had a name. I feel kind of bad about that now. After keeping me safe dispite all our efforts to kill ourselves and her, she should have had the honor of being named. Guardian Angel might have been a good fit in retrospec.

When I bought my first house I sold her to a guy who promised to take good care of her. I never saw her after that day. I hope she is still out there someplace taking care of some other knucklehead. I hope we meet again.

Previous - Next

Top