Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

I CaptainRon, being of semi sound mind...
2002-10-02

Well rested and depressed... That would be the best description of the situation this morning. I could have just said blah... That would have worked too.

Yesterday was about as unproductive of a day as you can imagine. I spent most of the day watching a lady who shouldn't be allowed to handle a cup of hot coffee handle dangerous chemicals. Why is she doing this? Because she applied and was tops on the union senority list. Does it matter that she has no cordination and the attentions span of a gnat? Does it matter that the stuff she is handling could take us both to the great beyond? Nope, all that matters is that the union rules must be followed. We are doing it again today so if this is my last entry, you'll know why. God what a great country.

I got to the blood suckers early and went throught the routine. Pee in the cup, fill up the vial, withdraw three tubes of blood, fill out the self evaluation forms. Sit and wait for the doctor to hopefully show on time. After an hour of waiting, I'm getting ready to pull the plug. I'm going to be late for sailing. I hear the phone ring. The doctor will be at least another half hour at her office. Figure it will be an hour before she gets here. I'm out of here... The nurses appologize and say they understand and will reschedule for next week. She does this all the time. I guess her time is more valuable than ours. I wonder why?

So I dash down to the boat and get there right at 6:00. I grab a red grapes from the bar and we all head out in the launch. It is a beautiful night. Finally something has gone right. We sail out to the lighthouse and back in decent breeze. The Newport Bridge looks like a big pearl necklace in the sky. Two of the people have never been night sailing. They are impressed. We have the whole bay to ourselves. Nice...

We have missed the last launch so I find an open dock and we tie up. By the time everything is straightened out it is a little before 8:00. Neil and crew are in the club. I buy Steve a beer and me a wine. M.E. doesn't want anything. That stupid diet she is on. I'm not even three sips in when she starts on me. When are we leaving? Leaving? We just got here. I want to go home. OK as soon as I finish this drink. After every sip I get the look, aren't you done yet? She finally says it's 9:30, come one. The mood is ruined. It takes a lot to counteract a good sail. She has managed.

I gulp down the rest of my wine, say my good byes and we leave. Once in the parking lot, she realizes she has her own car and could have left at any time. She says you can stay. I get in the truck and drive home. The clock in the truck says 8:20. It is not 9:30. I'm not exactly a happy boy.

We get home and she says if you are upset you should just go back. She doesn't get it. The dog and I eat a couple of veggie burgers and hit the bed. M.E. reads. The remote falls from my hand at a little after 9:00 so I just shut off the tube and crash. A wonderful night....

I woke up this morning at 4:00. I couldn't breath. Allergies I guess... I get up take a pill and sleep fitfully for another hour or so. I seriously consider playing hooky. It is so hard getting motivated these days. But I do what I have to do and here I am. Waiting for this old lady to get ready so I can wonder again if she is going to take us both out. Happy Wednesday.

Previous - Next

Top