Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Hey I know him...
2002-10-01

I have a friend who is living my dream. He is driving Stars and Stripes in the America's Cup trials for team Dennis Conners. I've known Kenny for a long time. He is one of the few people that can step on any boat and immediately make it go faster. I also know his brother and his dad and I are friends too (We talked Sunday in the driftathon). Kenny spends his time in exotic places driving sailboats for a living. Sigh...

I was flipping through the channels last night and up pops Kenny. The opening round of the Louis Vutton Cup. Stars and Stripes vs Great Britan is on, so of course I watched. Man those teams are so good. Kenny kicked GBRs butt off the start and never looked back. I got the impression that they had more speed than they were showing. I hope so... It would be nice to bring the Cup back to Newport. We'll see...

I have an appointment with the research clinic tonight. It is kind of weird having to hope that you got bad enough that they'll put you back on the drugs, but thats the situation I find myself in. According to their charts, I'm a sucess story. According to my body, I'm worse than when I started. Maybe I need to write a letter to the FDA? I suspect the protocol is so skewed that if this stuff doesn't kill us (only a very slight chance according to the literature) it is to be considered sucessful.

There are rumors that they gaffed up the dosage for larger people and that they weren't giving us enough to make a difference. I'm hoping I get a chance to see if that is the case. If it doesn't happen, I'll make alternate plans. Right now I'm on nothing and getting worse by the day. When the cold weather comes I may just have to stay inside huddled in front of a heater. UGH, that is no way to live.

The doctor is a nice person but way too busy for her own and her patients good. Last visit she talked about how I was resisting going on Cyclosporin and Metotrexate. Both are pretty heavy immunosuppressants. Um doc... You took me off both drugs remember? The Meth screwed up my liver enzymes? You don't remember that call? It's in your notes... and about that Cyclosporin Um remember that minor side effect of blood pressure approaching near stroke levels? I know you were on vacation when the lab work came in and your partner called me in a near panic and told me to stop taking it immediately, but that must be in there some place too right? It wasn't that long ago.

So, I'll go in and maybe get into a fight and quit the study. They can mail me my chack. Then I'm going sailing. It is suppose to be 80 today and it't the first day of October and damn it I'm ready. Kenny watch out, here I come.

Previous - Next

Top