Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

I fought the mattress... (and the mattress won)
2002-09-26

Well it's Thursday, only two more long boring days till the weekend. I had to give a tour again yesterday afternoon to the people who will eventually realize that my department is excess baggage. I split a bit early and headed directly to the boat. There were chores to be done and things that needed fixing.

Boat time doesn't count against you, when they tally up the hours you are scheduled to spend on this earth. I firmly believe this and will continue too as long as I'm looking at the grass from the green side.

I put the cruising sail on and pumped out the water from the cooler. I poured some bleach in the head (toilet) and cleaned and flushed that out well. I sat on the deck for a bit and watched the world go by in what seemed like slow motion. It was a beautiful night to go sailing. I didn't go.

The launch came to pick me up and I had 16 feet of spinnaker pole on my shoulder. Repairs were in order... I walked down the street with the pole balanced on my shoulder like those women in Asia with their buckets of water. It will be fixed by the weekend.

Crap. M.E. is getting out of work late. No sailing, so a glass of wine at the Club, talking to the guy with the bad heart and no job about him having to sell his boat. Wondering if some day that will be me... God I hope not.

One and out, I go home to cook fish on the grill, and read the paper, and do nothing productive. Where is life headed? Who knows.... Too bad life does not come with instructions.

I apparently fought the bed to a draw again last night. The fitted sheets on my side have been consistantly been dislodged from the mattress lately. Is that why I'm so tired? You can't work at a boring insecure job all day and then fight demons all night and expect to be rested I guess. I stopped in for major coffee on the ride in. It only helped a little.

M.E. just called and said she heard on the radio that we just bombed Iraq. Maybe my life won't be the only one that is unsettled...

Previous - Next

Top