Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

I hate my job, I hate my job
2002-09-24

I hate it here, I hate it here, I hate it here, I really really reall hate it here.

Sigh... All you need to know about our company is that the most important piece of equipment in the whole company, the one that could (and periodically does) shut down the entire operation is nearly as old as me... and still runs on vacuum tubes... and is no longer serviced by the company that manufactured it... and my boss, my wonderful thinks it is adaquate.

All of our files and process specifications are scattered in untitled books and files spread thru out the department. My boss came in looking for a specific one. One I'd never seen. I tell him this, his reply? Find it.. SO I look... I look thru cabinets and desks and files piled up on the desks of people who are no longer here. I finally find a purchase spec that looks like it might be what he wants... remember he asked for a process spec, very different documents located in very different piles of crap. Yup, it is what he wants after all. Now find the other one.

Ok, now I know where to look at least... Except nothing is ever easy here. I can't find the second file. I look again. I look a third time. Finally in the small print of a page 9 of 10, I find the word I'm looking for. It seems the name was changed several years ago, but the file never was. I make my copies and the boss man grunts and walks away. Did I mention I hate my job?

Previous - Next

Top