Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Hey old dude with the limp...
2002-09-16

UGh, I'm sore today and all the dampness and rain isn't helping. Neither is the charity 5K we walked/ran yesterday. Because of my knee, I haven't even been walking at lunch lately, never mind working out. This was for a good cause and we had a big group, all of whom were determined to beat last years times. So we went.

I didn't even make it to the first mile when everybody noticed I was limping. I felt OK though and actually loosened up a bunch as the day went on. It was pretty cool, they had 5000 runners and lots of the top people in the country were there. It was the US mens championship and the top prizewas $25,000. They also have 15 bands set up on the race route which started at the State House, went downtown and wandered along the river.

We were setting a decent pace and dispite the knee I was happy with my time. With a little over a quarter mile left somebody suggested we all go full out. It sounded like a good idea so we took off running at full speed. The finish was at the top of this huge hill that is in front of the Providence Mall. That hill was a killer. I made it to the top, but that was it. About 20 yards from the finish, my lungs were killing me and I had to slow down. Damn I'm out of shape. We finished right around 40 minutes. No medals for that but considering my lack of exercise lately I was happy. We had some water, talked to a few of our serious running friends and then headed for Joes to rehydrate. One beer and two bloodies did the trick. We got home just in time to watch the Patriots kick some NY Jets butt! Never a bad thing... So If you see me walking a little slower today, you'll know why. I'm old dammit LOL.

PS today is the inquisition. This gray rainy day seems to fit perfectly. I'll be dazzling, and it won't matter.

later

Previous - Next

Top