Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Gustav, we hardly knew ya
2002-09-12

Well, my gas tank is now full and I have cash in my wallet. This pay day could not have come soon enough. Thank god for direct deposit.

The neighborhood looks like a war zone, thanks to a big old bag of wind called Guatav. Gustav is now a hurricane headed to the Canadian Maritimes, but he came in close enough to give us 50 mile an hour winds. Firtunately he was far enough away that we stayed dry. There are branches and leaves every where when I got home so obviously I was concerned about the boat. Sooo. I waited for M.E. to come home and then headed out.

The club was busy. Lots of people who planned to go out had a hasty change of heart. There were full white caps in the cove and boats were swinging around on the moorings like flaminco dnacers. I popped in the bar to pay my respects and then went looking for the launch driver. He looked a little shell shocked and asked, do you really want to go out there? I said is it really that bad? He said yes and so did I. Off we went. I just wanted to to a close circle of the bow to make sure the mooring line was OK. We were taking water over the front of the launch and I had to stand in the back to stay dry.

When we got out to the boat, my nice wash job of Sunday was a mess. The boat was covered in salt and yawing probably 30 degrees of either side of the wind. The back of the main cover had come undone, but besides that, everything looked fine. I told the driver theat we didn't need to stop. He looked VERY relieved. On the way back the ride was much dryer and we made it back to the dock in no time. I stopped in for a glass of grapes.

As I said earlier, the club was packed and the topic of conversation was the recent local elections. General consensis at the club was that the candidate who just barely won (well it isn't official yet they still have to count the absentees) will probably wreck what is left of business in this state. Rhode Island, while beautiful is one of the toughest states in the country to do business in. Lots more companies are leaving than coming in and now it is likely that we'll have an anti-business governor to make it worse. Ahh, you say, maybe she won't be elected... This is a one party state. You win the Democratic primary and you have to screw up really badly to lose. Of course she has already lost twice so maybe there is hope. As somebody looking for a new job before the old one dies though, this isn't a good scenario. I don't understand how you can say you are pro-family but yet be against jobs? Families have to work someplace you know? I guess she'd be happy if we were all on welfare. Sigh... Well enough of this rant.

M.E.s car is still not fixed. They still can't get the part she needs and when it comes in it will cost close to $400. Ouch... It is running though and she took it home. She was on call last night and if she had gotten called in, I'd have made her take the truck and I'd have taken my shot with the car. What the hell. We have AAA.

On a positive note, Neil has found away around the stupid re-finance snafu if the bank can't get it fixed. You remember they want like $5000 in advanced escrow money... We'll just elect to pay the taxes and insurance ourselves. It is kind of a pain, but will fix the problem if they can't. We'll see....

Previous - Next

Top