Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Who the hell was Price Henry?
2002-09-06

Well I stopped in to my lunch place for the last time today and I guess I was too late. It was dark and the doors were locked. I never got to say goodbye or wish them well. Happens to me alot it seems.

I did get my chart all made for tomorrows Prince Henry the Navagators race. It was a real pain in the butt. I had to reduce several charts on the photocopier, then splice them together, then find and circle certain bouys and then letter them and connect the ones listed in the race instructions. What a pain. Oh well, I'm not going back on that rant.

Tomorrows race is cool though. You can start at five different places. You start at anchor with everybody below. The start is at 9:00 am and is announced over the radio. When the horn sounds, everybody runs up, pulls up the anchors, hoists the sails and starts racing. The thing is you can all go in different directions. There are lots of legs on the chart that you can sail, but all the legs have to connect and you can't use a leg more than twice. You have to be careful not to get stuck in a blind corner. You even get to use your motor for a half hour (but not at the start). Everybody has to finish in Wickford between 3:00 and 3:30. After 3:30 you start to get penalized. After 4:00, you are DSQ. Who ever sails the most miles wins. Most of the time you don't see most of the people you are racing against, well at least until the finish... Afterward there is a big cookout at the Wickford YC with open bar and all. A nice time... We're bringing jello shots :-)

We need to bring the boat into the dock tonight for some prep work and because the launch that takes us to the morning is on fall hours so they start late. Ice in the cooler, water in one of the tanks, a little hose down, and life will be good. The weather is supposed to be beautiful with light Southwest winds. Come and play?

Previous - Next

Top