Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Three strikes, I'm out
2002-09-06

It wasn't the best of days yesterday. First, I got a friend in trouble by asking what seemed like a harmless favor. Turned into something more involved it seems and now there as a debt to be paid. People have enough problems without me causing more. I hate it when I do that. It's not somethign I can fix either or I would, no matter what it took. Sigh...

Then we are doing this race Saturday, the Navagators race. It takes all day, but is really fun and a good test of skill. We've won it a few times and I usually look forward to it lots. Well the group in charge this year really doesn't have their act together and now a day before the start we still don't have a course chart. They had months to get this out and they still couldn't manage. I'm going to have to make up my own today... Sigh... They want all the glory but won't do any of the work. They guy who's job this was suppose to be was preaching at me about how much work it was... I had that job, for several years. Don't tell me you don't have time, just do it or get the hell out of the way. Do I sound upset? I am a little. I told the commodore (head guy) about this and he said "It isn't my job". Well it's YOUR orginization so it is YOUR job.

Then to cap it off, we are running realy light crew, only six of us. We get to the Club last night and Neil asks if I want to go to Block with them. Um Neil, you and Mary are racing with me on Saturday? You ordered Dinners on Wednesday? Ring a bell? Well Johhy the Chin had the great idea to go to Block. So like that Neil blows us off. Well his wife Mary isn't so much of a butthead. She made a committment and she's going to race, and then take the ferry out to meet them. She paid for both dinners. We managed to scrounge up on more person, but it kind of pisses me off. This is probably the fifth or sixth time Neil has done this. He thinks nothing of making a commitment and then bailing at the last minute if a better offer from somebody higher in the pecking order comes along. He gets really mad if any of his crew do the same to him though. Watch out if that happens, and yet he is perfectly blind to the contradiction. Oh well... Enough rant on a dead horse. I have a map to make.

Previous - Next

Top