Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

I wish I owned a penguin
2002-09-05

How sad... My little lunch place has taken on the atmosphere of a funeral. No one smiles or says Hi and I can understand it. 2 more days and they will be done. Apparently they looked to find someplace else in the neighborhood, but nothing suitable was available. So some place that was a thriving living place with a personality will be gone.

It hits too close to home. I'm still figuring that we'll close here just before the holidays, but the lack of business in our department makes even that outlook a bit too rosy I think. The bills piled up on the counter don't want to hear that though. I hope the re-fi on the mortgage comes through soon. We were eligable for a personal line of credit at 1/2 point above prime so I'm signing up for that too. Better to borrow there than from the retirement account like I've done twice already.

Sometimes I think that retirement is all an illusion. A mirage that I'll never get to or be able to afford when I do. They keep pushing the Social Security age back and by the time I get there it will probably be a 100. I doubt I'll ever make anything close to that.

Ahh what a light hearted and lifting entry. My grass needs to be mowed finally and I'm not in the mood. Any takers? I'll give you beer and home made pizza? Just um, watch where you step OK?

Thanks

Previous - Next

Top