Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Vacation 2002 part 1
2002-09-03

He's back. Did you miss me? Yeah sure, right... I've been gone over a week and only two lovely people signed my guestbook. :-( Well I'm still drying out from three days of wonderful New England weather.

Some of the vacation was wonderful. Some was fun. Some was productive... Some was life threatening, seriously.. I guess you'll just have to read to find out which was which. I guess I'll start at the begining, which is the smoothest part of the last 10 days. Ahhh, peace...

We got the boat loaded up with all out cruising stuff and food for a week and headed out into the great not so unknown. We hit a quiet New England town for one night and then a mostly deserted island for the next two. Just what I needed to get my head together. We had the inflatable with us and motored to shore and took a nice 6 mile walk through the trees and ruins of old farms. We were the only people for miles. The quiet was unbelieveable. Nice... I even went sort of swimming for the first time in years. I say sort of because I never was far enough away from something to grab on to during the whole plunge. The water felt good and I didn't even have that grubby feeling you usually get from salt water. I just felt clean and refreshed. We really ate well all week and the wine supply to a major whack too. Very nice...

On Tuesday, well on Tuesday I suffered. I woke up to the worst back ache I've ever had. I have no idea what caused it, but I literally couldn't move all day. I did get a lot of reading done, watched a beautiful sun set and the lights of the Mount Hope Bridge in the distance floating light a giant pearl necklace over the bay so it wasn't a total lose. I managed to get through the night on what we had in the medicine cabinet, but on Wednesday, the last race day, more powerful stuff would be needed.

We got up Wednesday morning to a picture perfect day. We motored quietly through the the morning mist and watched schools of fish jumping out of the water as birds circled around. We found an empty slip at the Club, unloaded a few things and went home for laundry duty and meds. My back eventually loosened enough for me to race. We needed a first to win it all. People were gunning for us. It wasn't going to be easy...

Previous - Next

Top