Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Wounded Knee
2002-08-09

Friday at last. It's been a long short week. My knee is getting progressively worse. I'm going to have to get it checked out next week, but I am not going to let it ruin my long weekend in Block. If I have to hop on one foot, I'm still going. BTW the hop on one thing is pretty much how I'm getting off the boat these days. I'm trying to put as little pressure on the one bothering me as possible. It's tough to get old.. Sigh...

The boat transmission is also giving me problems. Sometimes it just doesn't want to go into reverse. This is a bad thing as reverse is the only way to slow down or stop the boat. We don't have brakes. Neil thinks I may just be low on oil. Hopefully thats all it is. I'll check tonight when I get home.

M.E. has the day off and I wish I did too. Looks to be a long day in the salt mine.

The ladies race last night went off OK. I borrowed a bigger anchor and we didn't have any problems dragging this time. Only three boats showed up. Kind of sad. They did a lousy job of promoting it and it was on an of night and before a holiday weekend. We gave them a full race though as the breeze filled in nicely. A 22 foot boat beat a 37 foot boat. Interesting. After the race I had mud from the anchor every where. I had to scrub the whole thing down. By the end I was hobbling pretty badly. A couple of glasses of red grapes and and application of Sports Creme helped some, but sleep was the best solution.

M.E had a craving for pizza so thats what we had for dinner. I didn't hit the bank last night so thats what I'm eating for lunch today too. Oh well...

The weather for the weekend looks great and I have most of the food packed on board already. I need to buy beer and maybe a bottle or wine or two, make the meatballs and pack my clothes. it should all be doable. The forecast is for beautiful weather. Sometimes life is good, even with a limp.

Previous - Next

Top