Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

I guess I need new business cards.. I hope...
2002-08-01

I'm running on about 30% brain power today. Enough to run the vital systems, but not enough to make witty conversation or make difficult decisions. Too much candle burning I guess. Filling up the time with non-important things... it seems necessary. And life goes on.

The company has been officially sold. I now work for the new outfit, a multi-billion dollar affair. Do they care about me and my co-workers welfare? Hahahahaha. Lots of long faces today. The faces of uncertainty. Everybody is worried that the money will stop coming. It is a real possibility. We all fear being broke, about not paying the bills, the mortgage. I suppose it is even worse if you have kids. Then the spectre of loss of income must loom like the grim reaper, just waiting around the corner for one small mis-step and bang...you're gone.

When I'm tired like I am now, I have a harder time putting up a cheery front. All the past worries and hurts are just a little closer to the surface I guess. I get more sensitive, more introspective. You tend to notice more when people go out of thier way to put a downer on your day. I guess they have their problems too. Maybe they are just tired? Maybe the whole middle east problem could be saved just by making everybody take a long nap... Nah too simple right? sigh...

Previous - Next

Top