Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Weekend tales
2002-07-29

I wonder how many entries I've started by saying I'm tired. I probably could do a search, but that seemss like lots of work and sice I really am tired, I guess I skip it.

I got to bed early last night after a very busy weekend, but we had thunderstorms and you know how puppy gets. We blocked off the back of the bed so now he can't get stuck in there, but he kept trying to dig through the carpet and crying. I finally got up and laid on the floor with him. That helped him lots, but did little for my situation this morning. Ah well, the things we do for love.

Friday night we had a big party on the Club deck, live music, lots of food and drink, 200 people. It was a really good time. Charlie's anorexic daughter was a show stopper. She showed up with a sort of real looking baby made from plastic and was rocking it like a real kid. Now this girl although very sweet has peircings every where, skull tatoos on most exposed flesh and the look of the walking dead. I thought she had actually gained a little weight, but her mom said it is edema (spelling?). Her body is retaining water, not a good thing. Well when she showed up at the party with generic baby (it was a cross betweens a black, hispanic and asian)people thought she had gone off the deep end. Well it turned out she was babysitting for her sister who was testing it out for this probect she is on for teems at high risk of pregnancy. The baby is computer controlled and records everything dont to it. It crys and eats and poops, just like a real kid and wakes up at 3:00 am just for good measure. Katie was suppose to baby sit for a few hours. Her sister stuck her with the kid all night. When it cried and 3:00 am. She finaly turned it off. So much for the evaluation I guess. We called it Charlies illigitamate generic grandchild all night. He was not amused. So of course we were. We stayed pretty late, just sitting on the deck looking at the water and the sky. The music was Ok too, not great, but OK.

Saturday morning I had to get the steering tightened so I met Charlie at the shop at 8:00 sharp. UGH!!! We were finished in about 10 minutes. The club had an after party party in the morning. A dixie land band and full breakfast complete with bloody marys was happening on the deck. Well, it was free so we stopped in and partook. Hold the bloddies please. I came home full and awake and cut the grass. Then I cleaned up and we went to Kennys for his summer party. All the old crowd was there. Lots of hugging and kissing and telling old stories. Steve and I paired up in horseshoes and we did pretty well. I usually stink, but had a good day. We lost the World Championship of Kens yard though to Al and Neil. Oh well, I got over it. The food was good, the company better. We all sat around the campfire later on and Diane who had maybe one too many jello shots fell right out of her chair and landed on her butt. VERY funny. I have a feeling that Sunday morning was not kind to her. We all left at a reasonable hour. It's tough to get old.

Yesterday was Sunday which is always sailing at 1:00. It was cloudy and grey. None of the crew or invited guests showed. Neil asked if we wanted to go with him and we said sure. He hasn't played much on his boat this year. Len the fameous surgeon and his wife came too. Len use to be a rich SOB and everybody hated him. Now times are rougher and he has come down to earth. He isn't a bad guy, and his wife is a hoot. We sailed our usual route and Len drove the whole way. Neil was appologetic about him hogging all the drive time, but I didn't mind. Len hasn't sailed much lately and I can play all I want. We are suppose to take out his big racing machine next week. We'll see... We had more drinks on the deck and M.E. and I went home. She wanted pizza for dinner and so we did. Not a bad weekend... Life is good. Now if I can only squeeze in a nap.

Previous - Next

Top